2010 Soccer World Cup

Explore South Africa
Home | SA Hotels | SA History | Weather | Planning your trip | Culture | Food | Geography | Safety | SA Facts | About Us
South Africa 2010 Soccer World Cup
2010 Soccer World Cup

- European Qualifiers
- African Qualifiers
- Asian Qualifiers
- 2010 Stadiums

2010 Soccer World Cup Hotels
- Book Hotels In South Africa

Host Nation South Africa
- Transport
- Traveling Distances
- Safety
- Health and Medical
- South African Football

Like us on Facebook

Follow Explore South Africa on Twitter

2010 Soccer World Cup

South Africa is the first country in the history of world football’s governing body to play host to the Soccer World Cup will take place between 11 June and 11 July 2010. South Africa, Morocco and Egypt were all in the running to host footballs biggest event, but South Africa were declared winners after only one round of voting.

The President of FIFA, Joseph S. Blatter announced the results at a media conference on 15 May 2004, at the World Trade Center in Zurich, and said “The winner is Africa. The winner is football.”

World football's Executive Committee have chosen to keep the qualifying format the same as the last World Cup, meaning South Africa are automatically qualify for a place as the host nation.

After the qualifying matched there will be five African teams plus South Africa, 13 European countries, five Asian and Oceania teams, and eight for South America and the Central American region. A total of 32 teams will battle for the World Cup in South Africa in 2010





All Rights Reserved © 2005 - 2010 | Sitemap | Explore South Africa Privacy