ABSA Cape Epic

Explore South Africa
Home | SA Hotels | SA History | Weather | Planning your trip | Culture | Food | Geography | Safety | SA Facts | About Us
ABSA Cape Epic
Cape Town

- Prehistoric Cape
- Early Explorers
- the first Cape Settlers

Accommodation In Cape Town
- Hotels In Cape Town
- Hotels In Camps Bay
- Constantia Hotels
- Hout Bay Hotels
- Hotels in Milnerton

Places to visit
- Table Mountain
- Robben Island
- District Six
- Cape Point
- Historical Heritage
- MTN ScienCentre
- Attractions
- City Bowl
- Surrounding Area
- Top Ten Attractions
- Cape Town Theatres

Annual Cape Town Events
- Cape Town Jazz Festival
- Pick 'n Pay Cape Argus
- Two Oceans Marathon
- ABSA Cape Epic
- Lamberts Bay Crayfish Festival

Cape town Resources
- Weddings in Cape Town
- Cape Town Property

- Cape Town

Like us on Facebook

Follow Explore South Africa on Twitter

ABSA Cape Epic

This is not a cycle race open to the general public. Which is probably a good thing, because anyone who is not fit enough to take on this monster of an event, may regret it dearly later on. Part of the race is on privately owned land, which is opened up once a year for the race, in support of the race by the landowners. However, trespassers will not be let off easily. If caught, expect a lifetime ban!

The ABSA Cape Epic starts at the Knysna Waterfront every year, and finished as Lourensford Wine Estate. But the route differs every single year. The stage towns are always different, and the general route is revealed only 6 months prior to the race, on the official website of the race. The finer details however, are not revealed until the start of the actual race.

With a combination of single track, rugged jeep tracks and fast flowing gravel roads with as little tar as possible, the daily stages are usually between 80 and 140km.

The 2007 race saw the following results:
Men's Classification Overall Leaders
Karl Platt (Germany) and Stefan Sahm (Germany) of Team Bulls - 33:08.00,7

Masters Classification Overall Leaders
Andrew Mclean (RSA) and Damian Booth (RSA) of Team Cycle Lab - 37:48.34,0

Mixed Classification Overall Leaders
Yolande Speedy (RSA) and Paul Cordes (RSA) of Team IMC/Mongoose - 39:06.06,1

Ladies Classification Overall Leaders
Anke Erlank (RSA) and Yolande de Villiers (RSA) of Team Duravit - 39:55.53,3

Best African Team Overall Leaders
Kevin Evans (RSA) and Brandon Stewart (RSA) of Team Raleigh MTN Energade 1 - 35:03.38,8.

It was said that this year’s race was the toughest and most competitive yet. It was a gripping finish that ended seven gruelling stages. The seventh stage was the favourite. But the exhausted German team had won the hearts of all spectators and it was overwhelming when they finally crossed the finish line!

All Rights Reserved © 2005 - 2010 | Sitemap | Explore South Africa Privacy